Apparel & AccessoriesBooksClassical MusicDVDElectronics & PhotoGourmet Food and GroceriesHealth & Personal CareHome & GardenIndustrial & ScientificKitchen
Popular MusicMusical InstrumentsOutdoor LivingComputer HardwareComputer SoftwareSporting GoodsToolsToys and GamesVHS VideoVideo Games

Search:

Browse by Catagory:

Books

Mathematical Physics


Sphere Packing, Lewis Carroll and Reversi (New Martin Gardner Mathematical Library)

Sphere Packing, Lewis Carroll and Reversi (New Martin Gardner Mathematical Library) Lowest new price: $7.98
Lowest used price: $2.99
List price: $16.99
Author: Martin Gardner

Packing spheres, Reversi, braids, polyominoes, board games, and the puzzles of Lewis Carroll. These and other mathematical diversions return to readers with updates to all the chapters, including new game variations, proofs, and other developments and discoveries. Read about Knuth's Word Ladders program and the latest developments in the digits of pi. Once again these timeless puzzles will charm readers while demonstrating principles of logic, probability, geometry, and other fields of mathematics. It's the perfect stocking stuffer for the puzzle wizard on your list.

Similar Products:


Sync: The Emerging Science of Spontaneous Order

Sync: The Emerging Science of Spontaneous Order Lowest new price: $7.69
Lowest used price: $2.55
List price: $32.99
Author: Steven H. Strogatz

At the heart of the universe is a steady, insistent beat, the sound of cycles in sync. Along the tidal rivers of Malaysia, thousands of fireflies congregate and flash in unison; the moon spins in perfect resonance with its orbit around the earth; our hearts depend on the synchronous firing of ten thousand pacemaker cells. While the forces that synchronize the flashing of fireflies may seem to have nothing to do with our heart cells, there is in fact a deep connection.

Synchrony is a science in its infancy, and Strogatz is a pioneer in this new frontier in which mathematicians and physicists attempt to pinpoint just how spontaneous order emerges from chaos. From underground caves in Texas where a French scientist spent six months alone tracking his sleep-wake cycle, to the home of a Dutch physicist who in 1665 discovered two of his pendulum clocks swinging in perfect time, this fascinating book spans disciplines, continents, and centuries. Engagingly written for readers of books such as Chaos and The Elegant Universe, Sync is a tour-de-force of nonfiction writing.

Features:

  • ISBN13: 9780786868445
  • Condition: New
  • Notes: BRAND NEW FROM PUBLISHER! 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. Tracking provided on most orders. Buy with Confidence! Millions of books sold!

Similar Products:


Mathematics for Physics with Calculus

Mathematics for Physics with Calculus Lowest new price: $14.00
Lowest used price: $5.94
List price: $52.20
Author: Biman Das

A supplementary text for introductory courses in Calculus-Based Physics.

 

Designed for students who plan to take or who are presently taking calculus-based physics courses. This book will develop necessary mathematical skills and help students gain the competence to use precalculus, calculus, vector algebra, vector calculus, and the statistical analysis of experimental data. Students taking intermediate physics, engineering, and other science courses will also find the book useful–and will be able to use the book as a mathematical resource for these intermediate level courses. The book emphasizes primarily the use of mathematical techniques and mathematical concepts in Physics and does not go into their rigorous developments.

Similar Products:


Quantum Gravity (Cambridge Monographs on Mathematical Physics)

Quantum Gravity (Cambridge Monographs on Mathematical Physics) Lowest new price: $52.71
Lowest used price: $62.01
List price: $83.00
Author: Carlo Rovelli
Brand: Brand: Cambridge University Press

Quantum gravity poses the problem of merging quantum mechanics and general relativity, the two great conceptual revolutions in the physics of the twentieth century. The loop and spinfoam approach, presented in this book, is one of the leading research programs in the field. The first part of the book discusses the reformulation of the basis of classical and quantum Hamiltonian physics required by general relativity. The second part covers the basic technical research directions. Appendices include a detailed history of the subject of quantum gravity, hard-to-find mathematical material, and a discussion of some philosophical issues raised by the subject. This fascinating text is ideal for graduate students entering the field, as well as researchers already working in quantum gravity. It will also appeal to philosophers and other scholars interested in the nature of space and time.

Features:

  • Used Book in Good Condition

Similar Products:


Mathematics for Chemistry & Physics

Mathematics for Chemistry & Physics Lowest new price: $60.46
Lowest used price: $54.42
List price: $79.95
Author: George Turrell

Chemistry and physics share a common mathematical foundation. From elementary calculus to vector analysis and group theory, Mathematics for Chemistry and Physics aims to provide a comprehensive reference for students and researchers pursuing these scientific fields. The book is based on the authors many classroom experience.

Designed as a reference text, Mathematics for Chemistry and Physics will prove beneficial for students at all university levels in chemistry, physics, applied mathematics, and theoretical biology. Although this book is not computer-based, many references to current applications are included, providing the background to what goes on "behind the screen" in computer experiments.

Similar Products:


Data Reduction and Error Analysis for the Physical Sciences

Data Reduction and Error Analysis for the Physical Sciences Lowest new price: $46.91
Lowest used price: $46.91
List price: $74.75
Author: Philip R. Bevington

The purpose of this book is to provide an introduction to the concepts of statistical analysis of data for students at the undergraduate and graduate level, and to provide tools for data reduction and error analysis commonly required in the physical sciences. The presentation is developed from a practical point of view, including enough derivation to justify the results, but emphasizing methods of handling data more than theory. This text provides a variety of numerical and graphical techniques. Computer programs that support these techniques will be available on an accompanying website in both Fortran and C++.

Similar Products:


The Role of Topology in Classical and Quantum Physics (Lecture Notes in Physics New Series M)

The Role of Topology in Classical and Quantum Physics (Lecture Notes in Physics New Series M) Lowest used price: $2,420.43
List price: $64.95
Author: Giuseppe Morandi

In solid-state physics especially topological techniques have turned out to be extremely useful for modelling and explaining physical properties of matter. This book illustrates various applications of algebraic topology in classical field theory (non-linear sigma-models) and in quantizationsin multiply connected spaces (anyons). It treats Chern-Simon Lagrangians, Berry's phase, the polarization of light and the fractional quantum Hall effect.


Time Traveler: A Scientist's Personal Mission to Make Time Travel a Reality

Time Traveler: A Scientist's Personal Mission to Make Time Travel a Reality Lowest new price: $16.67
Lowest used price: $0.73
List price: $24.95
Author: Dr. Ronald L. Mallett

This is the dramatic and inspirational first-person story of theoretical physicist, Dr. Ronald Mallett, who recently discovered the basic equations for a working time machine that he believes can be used as a transport vehicle to the past.

Combining elements of Rocket Boys and Elegant Universe, Time Traveler follows Mallett's discovery of Einstein's work on space-time, his study of Godel's work on a solution of Einstein's equation that might allow for time travel, and his own research in theoretical physics spanning thirty years that culminated in his recent discovery of the effects of circulating laser light and its application to time travel.

The foundation for Mallett's historic time-travel work is Einstein's theory of general relativity, a sound platform for any physicist. Through his years of reading and studying Einstein, Mallett became a buff well before he had any notion of the importance of the grand old relativist's theories to his own career. One interesting subtext to the story is Mallett's identification with, and keen interest in, Einstein. Mallett provides easy-to-understand explanations of the famous physicist's seminal work.

Similar Products:


From Pythagoras to Einstein

From Pythagoras to Einstein Lowest new price: $18.95
Lowest used price: $3.95
List price: $19.95
Author: K. O. Friedrichs

The main thread running through this somewhat unorthodox approach to the special theory of relativity is the Pythagorean theorem. It appears in its most elementary geometric form in the very beginning of this monograph. Then it reappears in algebraic garb, is further modified and finally reinterpreted to play the role of one of the main characters in the special theory of relativity.

The first four chapters are easily accessible to high school sophmores or juniors. the remaining part of the book may be a little difficult for students who never studied physics, although the author actually employs only the notion of impact and presupposes no background in physics. With the aid of the vector geometry introduced earlier, he leads the reader from the impact conversation laws to the famous formula e=mc2.


Elements of the Random Walk: An introduction for Advanced Students and Researchers

Elements of the Random Walk: An introduction for Advanced Students and Researchers Lowest new price: $47.57
Lowest used price: $60.19
List price: $58.00
Author: Joseph Rudnick

Random walks have proven to be a useful model in understanding processes across a wide spectrum of scientific disciplines. This book is an introduction to some of the most powerful and general techniques used in the application of these ideas. Its self-contained text will appeal to graduate students across science, engineering and mathematics who need to understand the applications of random walk techniques, as well as to established researchers.

Similar Products:


Next >>
Page 1 of 8

[Kindle]    [Kindle DX]
  Privacy Policy

CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON SERVICES LLC. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED AS IS AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.